Fotografie Haiko Hebig

Beyond All Industrial Romanticism

by Andreas Rossmann

The Ruhr region is quite the opposite of what was on show in the context of Capital of Culture 2010.
Feridun Zaimoglu
 

Steel and town, two words that often go together. In the Ruhr region they constantly blend. Inextricably. And that has always been the case. But not as equals, as partners, as the relationship has always been one of tension, confrontation, conflict. First came industry, came coal and iron—and all that was required to mine the minerals and melt the ore. Then came everything else, the roads, the canals, the rail tracks, the bridges, the pipes, the workers, the homes, the housing estates, the administrative buildings, the churches, the schools, the pubs, the stadiums, the gardens, the parks. Urbanity? Rampant urban growth whichever way you looked—to this very day. “In the beginning was the mine”, “the mine founded the estate”, “the estate grew and became a town,” wrote Heinrich Hauser in 1930 in his documentary “Schwarzes Revier” (black zone). Steel ruled over the town, threated the town, controlled it, exploited it. And not the other way round. This sequence contradicts the customary rule. And this relationship defined all other relationships in the region. Even after the surface area claimed by production shrank and was focused along the banks of the Rhine. There’s no overlooking this fact to this very day.

The photographs by Bernd Langmack and Haiko Hebig explore this relationship and document its impact on Duisburg and Dortmund, the twin towns flanking the west and east of the mining region. In Duisburg, Thyssen-Krupp operates one of the world’s largest steel-making complexes, a city within a city that runs for kilometers northwards along the Rhine, truncating the Bruckhausen district from the river. Thyssenhütte consists of a coking plant, three sintering lines, four blast furnaces and two oxygen steelmaking facilities boasting five converters; in 2010 it was rolling out close to nine million tons of crude steel. The complex is constantly being upgraded, its productivity enhanced, and the payroll always being pruned. The district opposite is gradually dying; entire streets with works housing have already been torn down.

For many years, Dortmund was the second-largest steelmaking location in the Ruhr region, until the industry closed up shop there in 2001 and has since been completely focused in Duisburg. Krupp bought out Hoesch in 1992 and later merged to form Thyssen-Krupp. In the mid-1960s, Hoesch employed in excess of 40,000 workers, and five times as many were indirectly dependent on the company’s fortune. Today, a mere 1,400 staff members work the cold rolling mill, the hot-dip coating line and the electrolytic galvanization plant. Of Hoesch’s hot operations, only two steel-processing companies have survived, the one a heavyweight steel profiles line, the other the Rothe Erde ring rolling mill. These are concentration processes that have (further) upended the balance in the Ruhr region, and in the two towns. And the images Bernd Langmack and Haiko Hebig have created tell the dramatic tale of this change and the resultant social and urban planning problems.

Stahlgießerei - Steel foundry
Stahlgießerei, Dortmund-Hörde
Steel foundry, Dortmund, Germany
Haiko Hebig

Steel and town in Dortmund. What links the plant and the housing estates, the machines and the men here is their absence. Hebig’s images are—empty. Nothing there, no one at home. Where once Blast Furnace 7 glowed at the Westfalenhütte all you now see is wasteland. It opens out to the eye behind Borsigplatz—seven times larger than today’s downtown. Huckarder Strasse is now closed to traffic, there’s a fence cutting it off, no new posters on the billboards, spelling no traffic and no passers-by either. A black-topped expanse has replaced the production facilities, and trivial shopping-mall architecture now characterizes “Neue Mitte Eving”. The public spaces have the air and residential quality of an old backyard, and “Gneisenau Civic Park” now looks all too much as if it’s cars that have replaced the civic functions. At its very heart Dortmund now boasts close on a thousand hectares of wasteland that is now almost encroaching on downtown. Hard not to notice, but somehow rarely noticed: This emptiness defines the city’s appearance far more than all the things that stand out resplendently in the colorful “New Dortmund” brochures. Scars, non-locations, inhospitable zones: Their presence is testimony to a past that has disappeared once and for all, and points to a future that is still to be identified.

Steel and town: This publication is subtitled “Views on the Reality of the Ruhr Region”. “Views” in the double meaning of the term, signifying both representation and opinion. Ruhr 2010, the European Capital of Culture, definitely did not want to notice these views, let alone accept them: “We want to deploy strong, fresh images to do away with that outdated image so damaging to the (Ruhr) region,” Fritz Pleitgen stated in autumn 2009, sketching the direction things would go in. The “old” industry, and its ability to define the face of the region even when waning, was visually excluded, suppressed, declared a myth—and mystified in the process. Cultural policy as a means of repression, of constructing an image and foregrounding wishful thinking. Nothing new there.

The year after, the exhibition is also a reflection on Ruhr 2010 Capital of Culture, contradicting its strategy and the images it showcased. There’s no need to accept the reality of the Ruhr region that Bernd Langmack and Haiko Hebig present in their photographs, or find it elegant. But it needs to be noticed if the Ruhr region is ever to be changed.

 
Translation: Jeremy Gaines

This text also appeared in the photo book, Stahl+Stadt

Dieser Text auf Deutsch

Fotografie Haiko Hebig

Jenseits der Industrie­romantik

Andreas Rossmann

Das Ruhrgebiet ist das Gegenteil dessen, was im Zusammen­hang mit der Kultur­hauptstadt 2010 gezeigt wurde.
Feridun Zaimoglu
 

Stahl und Stadt, das stab­reimt sich. Im Ruhr­gebiet stehen sie noch näher beiei­nander als im Alpha­bet. Unzer­trennlich, von Anfang an. Doch nicht gleich­berechtigt, nicht auf Augen­höhe, viel­mehr in ständiger Spannung, konfron­tativ, konflikt­reich. Erst war die Industrie, waren Kohle und Stahl; und die, ihre Förde­rung und Produk­tion, zogen alles weitere nach: Straßen, Kanäle, Schienen, Brücken, Rohr­leitungen, Arbeiter, Häuser, Siedlungen, Verwaltungs­gebäude, Kirchen, Schulen, Kneipen, Sportplätze, Gärten, Grün­anlagen. Urbanität? Städte­bau­licher Wild­wuchs, bis heute. „Im Anfang war die Zeche“, „die Zeche gründete die Siedlung“, „die Siedlung wuchs und wurde Stadt“ schreibt Heinrich Hauser 1930 in „Schwarzes Revier“. Der Stahl beherr­schte und bedroh­te die Stadt, kontrol­lierte sie, beutete sie aus. Nicht umge­kehrt. Die Reihen­folge wider­spricht der Regel (auch der des Alpha­bets): Dieses Verhältnis bestimmte die Verhältnisse. Auch dann noch, als die Produk­tion aus der Fläche zurückgezogen und am Rhein konzentriert wurde. Bis heute ist das nicht zu übersehen.

Stahl und Stadt. Die Fotogr­afien von Bernd Langmack und Haiko Hebig gehen dieser Beziehung nach. In zwei Städten, Duisburg und Dortmund, den „Flügel­städten“ im Westen und Osten des Reviers. In Duisburg betreibt Thyssen-Krupp eines der größten Hütten­werke der Welt, eine Stadt in der Stadt, die sich, oben im Norden, kilometer­lang am Rhein entlang­zieht und den Ortsteil Bruck­hausen vom Fluss abschnei­det: Aus einer Kokerei, drei Sinter­bändern, vier Hochöfen und zwei Oxygen­stahl­werken mit fünf Konvertern besteht derzeit die Thyssen­hütte; im Jahr 2010 hat sie fast neun Milli­onen Tonnen Roh­stahl erzeugt. Die Anlage wird ständig modernisiert, ihre Produk­tivität immer weiter gesteigert, die Beleg­schaft gleich­zeitig reduziert. Der Stadt­teil gegenüber blutet aus, ganze Straßen­züge mit Werks­wohnungen wurden bereits abgerissen.

Dortmund war lange der zweite Stand­ort der Stahl­produktion im Ruhr­gebiet, bis sie 2001 einge­stellt wurde und seitdem ganz in Duisburg statt­findet. Krupp übernahm 1992 Hoesch und fusio­nierte später zu Thyssen-Krupp. Mitte der sechziger Jahre arbeiteten bei Hoesch mehr als vierzig­tausend Menschen, fünfmal so viele waren mittelbar von dem Konzern abhängig. Heute sind es im Kalt­walz­werk, der Feuer­beschichtungs­anlage und der elektro­lytischen Verzinkung noch 1.400 Beschäf­tigte. Von den Hoesch-Warm­betrieben haben nur zwei Unter­nehmen der Stahl­verar­beitung, eine schwere Profil­straße und das Ring­walzwerk Rothe Erde, überlebt. Konzen­trations­prozesse, die das Ruhr­gebiet – und die beiden Städte – (weiter) aus der Balance gebracht haben. Wie sehr, wie drama­tisch und mit welchen sozialen und städte­baulichen Problemen – davon erzählen die Fotogra­fien von Bernd Langmack und Haiko Hebig.

Huckarder Straße
Huckarder Straße, Dortmund
Dortmund, Germany
Haiko Hebig

Stahl und Stadt in Dortmund. Was Werk und Wohnen, Maschinen und Menschen hier nur noch ver­bindet, ist ihre Abwesen­heit. Hebigs Bilder sind leer: Nichts und niemand mehr da. Wo einst Hochofen 7 der Westfalen­hütte glühte, ist Öd­land. Hinter dem Borsigp­latz tut es sich auf, siebenmal so groß wie die Innen­stadt. Die Huckarder Straße lässt sich nicht mehr durch­fahren, ein Zaun steht im Weg, keine neuen Plakate auf den Werbe­tafeln heißt kein Verkehr und keine Passanten mehr. Teer­wüsten sind an die Stelle von Produktions­stätten getreten, triviale Shopping-Architektur bestimmt die „Neue Mitte Eving“. Öffentl­iche Plätze haben die Anmu­tung und Aufenthalts­qualität von Hinter­höfen, der „Bürgerpark Gneisenau“ sieht – trügerischer Gleich­klang – aus wie ein Park­platz. Dortmund verfügt in zentraler Lage über etwa tausend Hektar Brachen, die bis an den Rand der Innen­stadt reichen. Unüber­sehbar, aber kaum wahr­genommen, prägen sie das Stadt­bild stärker als alles, was die bunten Image­broschüren des „Neuen Dortmund“ füllt. Narben, Nicht­orte, unwirt­liche Areale. Ihre Gegen­wart bezeugt eine Vergangen­heit, die für immer verschwun­den ist, und weist auf eine Zukunft, die erst noch gefunden werden muss.

Stahl und Stadt: „Ansichten über die Wirk­lich­keit des Ruhr­gebiets“ lautet der Unter­titel dieser Publi­kation, deren Fotogra­fien zuerst im Hoesch-Museum Dortmund gezeigt wurden. „Ansichten“ im doppelten Wort­sinn: Abbil­dungen und Meinungen. Die Europäische Kultur­haupt­stadt Ruhr 2010 wollte sie, so oder so, nicht wahr­nehmen und nicht wahr­haben: „Wir wollen mit starken und frischen Bildern gegen das veral­tete, standort­schädigende Image (des Ruhr­gebiets) vorgehen“, hatte Fritz Pleitgen im Herbst 2009 als Richtung ausgegeben. Die „alte“ Industrie, die noch im Verschwin­den ihre Präge­kraft beweist, wurde visuell ausgegrenzt, unter­schlagen, zum Mythos (v)erklärt. Kultur­politik als Verdrän­gung, Image­konstruktion und Wunsch­konzert. Austauschbar.

Stahl und Stadt. Man muss die Wirk­lich­keit des Ruhr­gebiets, die Bernd Langmack und Haiko Hebig in ihren Fotogra­fien zur Ansicht bringen, nicht billigen oder schön finden. Aber man muss sie wahr­nehmen, wenn man das Ruhr­gebiet verändern will.

 
Erschienen als Nachwort im Buch Stahl+Stadt und unter dem Titel „Deutschlands Zukunft wohnt hier nicht mehr“ in der FAZ.

This text in English